Till I Can Gain Control Again

9 Mar

There are perfect songs.

And I believe this is one of them.

When I say perfect song, I meant the guy who wrote it did it perfectly.  There’s nothing there that shouldn’t be there… and there’s nothing missing.  And every note is right where it’s supposed to be.

And the song just feels right.

This song has brought tears to my eyes more often that just about any song I know.  I first heard Willie do it back in the golden era.  Emmylou Harris has covered it as well.

It was written by a really great country artist named Rodney Crowell.  He was married to Johnny Cash’s daughter.  He has high hair.  And this song makes him a songwriting hero of mine.

Another reason I personally love this song: It seems like it was written by a family member.  It pays homage to cowboys and sailors.  Our family has produced copious amounts of both.

Anyway, the name of Mr. Crowell’s song is Till I Can Gain Control Again.  Here it is…

Leave a Reply

